Paramedic of the Year

The Paramedic of the Year Award recognizes, praises and honours the hard and tireless work of our paramedics

Paramedic of the Year Award

St John NT Ambulance Paramedics

Being a paramedic is a tough job. Each and every shift sees our paramedics at the front line of very tense, high pressure and life threatening emergency situations.

Each year 1 in 6 Territorians are assisted by St John NT ambulance paramedics with ambulances attending around 45,000 emergency situations throughout the Territory. When treating and assisting community members experiencing trauma and injury, our paramedics also experience personal stress. While they get on with the job of saving lives, helping the sick, ill and injured they face the whole range of human emotions including compassion, aggression, despair, love and hope. Only rarely do they receive thanks and appreciation. The Paramedic of the Year Awards is a special night of thanks to these dedicated officers.

In 2000, Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise launched the Paramedic of the Year Award to recognize, praise and honour the hard and tireless work of our paramedics. It has become a hugely important annual event on our St John NT calendar enabling us and people in the community to acknowledge and appreciate the efforts of some of our most dedicated individuals.

The Awards are made possible through the enduring support and energy from Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise.

Paramedic of the Year

Nominate one today!

The Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise and St John Ambulance Australia (NT) Inc. are now seeking nominations from the public for this year’s awards and encourage patients, their family or carers to nominate a paramedic who has demonstrated outstanding abilities for the annual Paramedic of the Year Awards.


Nominations close: 4 October 2019
Download a nomination form, just click here
Or you can visit:
Email forms to: / or drop into any St John Ambulance Station, Territory wide.

Congratulations to the 2017 Paramedic of the Year

Caitlin grew up on a dairy farm in country Victoria, she started her career as a paramedic with Ambulance Victoria in the beautiful Gippsland. Caitlin made the move to Alice Springs after wanting to gain some remote experience. She intended on staying for 1-2 years however she fell in love with the Territory lifestyle and the rest is history. Caitlin loves coming to work in Alice Springs and being surrounded by the amazing landscape. Caitlin says “I enjoy my job as no two patients are ever the same and I get to meet a vast array of people from all different and unique backgrounds. I spend my free time exploring central Australia and love being outdoors.”

Thanks Caitlin and congratulations!

Click here to download the 2017 Paramedic of the Year Award Winners brochure

Say ‘thanks’ with a nomination for Paramedic of the Year

Have you or someone you know been helped this year by the work of a St John NT paramedic? Tell us why you think that person deserves to be recognised and they’ll be nominated for the next Paramedic of the Year Awards.

Nominations are accepted throughout the year (Awards held in September). To nominate complete the nomination form or if you prefer discretion, simply send an anonymous letter or email and we’ll make sure your nomination is processed.

Upon receipt of the nomination finalists are selected by a St John Ambulance NT Executive Member selection panel, then reviewed by St John Ambulance NT Board before being endorsed. The final winner is then chosen by judges from the Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise. The winner is selected based on not only their nomination but also on:

  • Their ongoing commitment to paramedical sciences learning.
  • Their professionalism and rapport across all walks of life from the general public and their patients, to their colleagues and across broader NT health services.
  • The care and compassion they display on a regular basis.

The Paramedic of the Year Awards has been proudly supported by the Northern Territory Government and the Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise since their inception.

Previous winners of the Award are:

  • 2016 Samantha Cooper, Darwin
  • 2015 Donna Winkworth, Darwin
  • 2014 Dean Featherstone, Katherine
  • 2013 Amanda McNeill, Darwin
  • 2012 Erin Maczkowiack, Darwin
  • 2011 Rhys Dowell, Katherine
  • 2010 Samantha King, Darwin
  • 2009 Sue Gibson, Alice Springs
  • 2008 Beverley Hellyer, Katherine
  • 2007 Chris Wilson, Tennant Creek
  • 2006 Annette Ingham, Darwin
  • 2005 Anthony Wood, Darwin
  • 2004 Trevor Keatch, Katherine
  • 2003 Sue Murphy and Karen Joyner, Darwin
  • 2002 Peter Poole, Darwin
  • 2001 Anne-Marie Muscat, Darwin
  • 2000 Jim Leigh, Darwin

Copyright ©2019 All rights reserved  |  St John Ambulance Australia (NT) Inc.