Stay up-to-date with what’s happening around our organisation, and drop us a line if you want to contribute!

For all media enquiries please contact

Media Releases | St John Ambulance
MEDIA RELEASE: Spotlight on St John NT for excellence in service
  27 Nov 2020

St John NT celebrated paramedics, volunteers and corporate staff for their leadership, outstanding level of care and professionalism at its annual Excellence Awards ceremony on Wednesday, 25 November 2020.

CEO Judith Barker said that in a year where we had all been challenged, staff and volunteers at St John NT had demonstrated the qualities of leaders in our community often going above and beyond the call of duty.

“I am extremely proud of the achievements of our staff and volunteers, these Awards provide a perfect platform to recognise our organisation as frontline responders and to acknowledge individuals who are role models, willing to share their expertise and knowledge so that collectively we can care for our community.”

“Thank you to all of tonight’s nominees and recipients for the extra effort you have made in delivering our service.” - CEO Judith Barker

The Awards include 13 categories incorporating paramedics, emergency medical dispatchers, patient transport officers, volunteers and corporate services staff.

Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise President, and sponsor of the 2020 Paramedic of the Year, Allison Hooper also congratulated all of this year’s nominees.

“You are an invaluable thread in society’s fabric and your professionalism, expertise and dedication is worthy of acknowledgement and celebration,” she said.

The Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise 2020 Paramedic of the Year was awarded to Amelia Brown.

Amelia is a paramedic for the Northern Region based in Darwin. She first joined St John NT in January 2018 and graduated from Charles Sturt University in December 2016.

Amelia has been recognised by her peers as a skilled practitioner, constantly delivering a high level of quality and culturally safe care.

She is a compassionate and supportive team member who clearly demonstrates the St John NT values, showing empathy for her patients while reflecting her personal integrity and dedication to the role.

Amelia is a valued mentor and has developed in her role both in Central Australia while working in Alice Springs and now in Darwin. She is an excellent role model for new recruits and takes the time to introduce them to the profession and supports them with developing their skills and knowledge for all aspects of working in the Northern Territory.

“Amelia joins an alumni of recipients who have provided significant and valuable service to our community,” Ms Barker said.

The St John NT Excellence Awards 2020 are kindly supported by the Northern Territory Government, Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise, Australasian College of Paramedicine, Area9, Bunnings, H on Mitchell Apartment Hotel, Event Cinemas, ABC Radio Darwin and First Nations TV.

The St John NT Excellence Awards 2020 recipients:

Junior Volunteer of the Year

Shae Driver, Alice Springs Cadet Division 

Cadet of the Year

Kate Bennett, Alice Springs Cadet Division

Peter Falkland Youth Leader 

Stephanie McMillan, Palmerston Cadet Division

Cadet Division of the Year

Alice Springs

Operational Support Member of the Year

Tina Sturgess, Palmerston Cadet Division

Paramedic of the Year Southern Region

Eloise Cox, Alice Springs

Paramedic of the Year Northern Region

Amelia Brown, Darwin

Patient Transport Officer of the Year

Jaime Rowley, Alice Springs

Emergency Medical Dispatcher of the Year

Cassandra Scaife, Emergency Communication Centre 

Adult Volunteer Division of the Year

Alice Springs

Excellence in Service Award 

Donna Peters, Casuarina Head Office 

Adult Volunteer of the Year

Val Eaton, Palmerston Adult Division

Paramedic of the Year

Amelia Brown, Darwin

Copyright © All rights reserved  |  St John Ambulance Australia (NT) Inc.